The ride-sourcing (a.k.a. “ridesharing”) market is projected to grow at a Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 19.87% from 2018 to 2025, to reach a market size of 218.0 billion U.S. by 2025 from 61.3 billion U.S. in 2018, according to MarketsandMarkets (M&M).
Some of the reasons for this explosion, according to the M&M report, include:
- Increased smartphone and internet penetration
- Increased costs of vehicle ownership
- More aggressive CO2 reduction targets
Other reasons for the explosion in Uber and Lyft popularity include:
- Uber and Lyft customers typically get where they are going faster or cheaper than they would by taxi.
- Uber and Lyft now require all prospective drivers to submit to motor vehicle and criminal background checks.
- Partygoers can rely on finding available Uber and Lyft drivers through their apps late at night.
- The combination of Uber/Lyft and expanding online grocery delivery makes it more practical to live without a car.
Unfortunately, such increased popularity brings about increases in ridesharing accidents. If you have suffered injuries resulting from an Uber or Lyft vehicle accident, a Florida car accident attorney at Searcy Denney can help.
What Does Florida Law Say About Uber or Lyft Insurance Coverage?
In 2017, Florida enacted a new law that requires ride-sourcing drivers to carry insurance above and beyond the state’s standard minimum requirements. Under Florida’s general automobile insurance law, all drivers in the state are required to have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) coverage. The Uber / Lyft Bill, also known as CS/HB 221, imposes additional requirements for ride-sourcing drivers both:
- While “logged on to the digital network but…not engaged in a prearranged ride,” and
- While “engaged in a prearranged ride.”
Logged In But Not Providing a Ride
The following insurance requirements are required when an Uber or Lyft driver is logged in but not carrying a passenger:
- Primary automobile liability coverage of at least $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person,
- Primary automobile liability coverage of at least $100,000 for death and bodily injury per incident,
- PDL coverage of at least $25,000 per incident, and
- PIP and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage as required by existing law.
When Providing a Ride
The following insurance requirements are required when an Uber or Lyft driver is carrying a passenger:
- Primary automobile liability coverage of at least $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property damage, and
- PIP and UIM coverage as required by existing law.
As you can see, these insurance laws, and other related laws that concern Uber and Lyft drivers, are quite complex. If you’re hurt in an Uber or Lyft accident, your best option is to contact a Florida car accident attorney at Searcy Denney, even before you contact your insurance company.
Contact a Florida Car Accident Attorney for Help With an Uber or Lyft Accident
The rules are different for Uber- or Lyft-related accidents. If you have suffered injuries resulting from any type of automobile accident, let a Florida car accident attorney at Searcy Denney help. We offer a free consultation and work on a contingency fee basis. Contact us today.