Skip to Content
Contact Form Map & Directions Videos

How to Obtain Your Accident Report in Pensacola

Car Accidents

car key and crash report

The police report from a car accident provides valuable information and serves as important evidence when resolving a claim for damage and injuries. Car accident lawyers, insurance adjusters, and investigators pay considerable attention to the details recorded in the accident reports.

That means it is helpful to obtain your crash report as soon as possible after your accident. A Pensacola auto accident attorney explains your options for getting a copy.

Obtaining a Crash Report in Person or Through the Mail

If your accident was reported to the authorities in the City of Pensacola, you can obtain a copy of your crash report at the Records Section of the Pensacola Police Department office at 711 N. Hayne Street in Pensacola. The cost is $0.15 per page. Anyone requesting an accident report must be prepared to present a driver’s license or state ID card.

Reports for accidents reported elsewhere in the state can be requested at the Florida Highway Patrol Troop Station closest to the site of the crash. For many accidents in the Pensacola area, the nearest location would be at 150 W. Stumpfield Road in Pensacola. A Pensacola auto accident attorney could assist in obtaining a copy of a report as well as other crucial evidence.

According to Florida Statute 321.23, the fee for a crash report obtained through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is $10.00. Anyone requesting more than 10 accident records must mail their request to the main FLHSMV office in Tallahassee.

Getting an Accident Report Online

To obtain a crash report online, you will need to know the following:

  • Driver’s last name
  • Collision date
  • Crash report number
  • Name of the investigating agency

When you have all of the necessary information, you can go online and enter the data into the FLHSMV Crash Portal to purchase a report. Once a report is purchased, it must be downloaded within 48 hours. A link will be mailed to the email address provided at the time the report is ordered.

Restrictions on Obtaining Crash Reports

It may take up to ten days for a crash report to become available, and in some cases, it can be difficult for the central FLHSMV system to collect information from certain reporting agencies. If you have a problem locating a report that is at least ten days old, the state advises contacting the law enforcement agency that investigated the accident to obtain a report directly from them.

During the first 60 days after a collision, the crash report is exempt from public disclosure. Only parties involved in the accident and other parties permitted by statute are allowed access to the report. Unlawful disclosure of confidential information or an unlawful attempt to obtain confidential information is a felony offense.

A Pensacola Auto Accident Attorney Can Help Make the Most of Information in Your Crash Report

While obtaining your accident report can help demonstrate the cause of an accident, it is only one component in the process of establishing liability. An experienced Pensacola auto accident attorney could help you gather the best available information to support your claim, and present that evidence in the most persuasive manner to help you obtain compensation for your losses. To learn how an experienced Pensacola auto accident attorney also helps auto accident victims in Fort Walton Beach and Tallassee.  Contact us today for a free case evaluation and consultation.

Share This

Hear What Our Clients Have To Say

"Nick DeBellis obtained the maximum recovery of full insurance limits in the case we worked on. He is a true professional and recommend him to anyone in South Florida."
Posted By: Michael Geoffroy