Equestrian Helmet Law in Florida - Searcy Denney Skip to Content
Contact Form Live Chat Review Us Map & Directions Videos

GOVERNOR CHARLIE CRIST SIGNS A SAFETY BILL INTO “NICOLE’S LAW” ON MONDAY. JUNE 8, 2009

06/19/2009
Blog
BY

Finally, the State of Florida has enacted an equestrian helmet law that requires anyone under the age of 16 to wear a helmet while riding a horse on public roads.  Nicole Hornstein, a 12 year old Palm Beach County girl died in 2006 after her horse stumbled and fell causing her to strike her head on the pavement.  Nicole was not wearing a helmet.

New York has enacted a law requiring the wearing of approved helmets by riders under 14 years of age.  The City of Plantation, Florida and the Canadian Province of Ontario have also passed similar laws.  As important as this issue is you would think that all states would have this type of law to protect equestrian riders.  Wearing a helmet is like wearing a seat belt; it saves many lives and it only takes a few seconds to put it on to save a life or prevent devastating injuries.

If you are interested in having an equestrian helmet law passed in your city, state or county, contact your local senators, congressmen, and representatives to put the “wheels in motion” to protect equestrians and to prevent a tragedy such as the one that the Hornstein family suffered.

For further information on existing equestrian helmet laws you can search Equestrian Helmet Laws on the Internet.

Share This

What Our Clients Have To Say

" Nick DeBellis obtained the maximum recovery of full insurance limits in the case we worked on. He is a true professional and recommend him to anyone in South Florida. "